Full Year

Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS) is a subject that combines History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship and Economics and Business. Each of these subjects is taught throughout the year within their own distinct units.

In Year 8 Students will engage in the following topics:

History: Students will study history from the end of the ancient period to the beginning of the modern period c.650– 1750 CE. They will explore Medieval Europe (c.590 – 1500 CE), The Polynesian expansion across the Pacific (c.700 – 1756 CE) and The Black Death (14th century plague).

Geography: Students will study two core units of Landforms and Landscapes and Changing Nations. They will investigate the processes that shape landforms and the importance cultural groups put on both landforms and landscapes. Students will also learn about the hazards associated with landscapes. Then in Changing Nations students will investigate the changing human geography of countries and the spatial distribution of populations. Heavy emphasis in these units is placed on geographical skills.

Civics and Citizenship: Students in the unit will explore the responsibilities and the freedoms of citizens and how Australians can actively participate in democracy. Students will also investigate how laws are made and used in Australia. Students will also grapple with the concept of national identity and what it means to be Australian.

Economics and Business: Students will explore the ways markets work within Australia, including the participants in the market system and the way they influence its operation. The focus in year 8 is on national and regional market issues.


Students will be assessed according to the distinct Achievement Standard for each of the subjects represented in the Australian HAAS Curriculum:

  • History
  • Geography
  • Civics and Citizenship
  • Economics and Business.